2015 WELCOME

WELCOME

Felters’ Fling 2015
An intensive, week long, felting experience for fiber artists

August 22 to August 30
Snow Farm, Williamsburg, Massachusetts

The 2015 Felters’ Fling is presented by Linda Van Alstyne and Carol Ingram. Their love of felt making and their synergy bring together some of the best felt artists from around the world to help participants explore the full range of artistic possibilities in felt. Join us for a full week of in-depth immersion into the art of feltmaking!

The Fling offers a unique venue for felt makers, with 80 or more felters from North America and places abroad. Participants select from among thirteen different classes offered by top-notch teachers. Camaraderie and creativity flourish as ideas are shared. The open space and tranquil setting of Snow Farm provides a supportive, encouraging environment where friends are made and friendships are renewed. A fashion show, hat parade, show and tell, instructor presentations, access to felting labs from early morning until late at night, and stimulating conversations over wonderful meals, make the fling an unforgettable 8-day experience.

As in past years, we offer workshops that challenge feltmakers artistically and technically, combining feltmaking with other media and stretching the use of felt in artistic expression.  Felters’ Fling 2015 is not only bringing very talented, exceptional instructors who have never taught at the fling or in the US before, we are also pleased to sponsor 2 popular master instructors from the earliest Flings,returning to present their dynamic felting courses. This is their first time back to the US in several years.

Snow Farm, the New England School of Craft, www.snowfarm.org has ideal facilities for feltmaking in a comfortable rural setting. Participants can choose from twelve different 3-day workshops (allowing you to take two different classes during the week) or one 6-day workshop (for more in-depth study). Not only is each participant taking their own choice of workshop, but there are also opportunities to learn from what other people are doing in other workshops. Each class is limited to 10-12 participants to allow for as much personal instruction as possible. In addition to the workshops, Felters’ Fling offers a cheese and wine reception, evening slide presentations and lectures by our guest instructors, a felt and fiber bazaar for buying and/or selling, special programs, morning exercise, demonstrations, and massage for those tired muscles. We will continue our traditional “Mad Hatter’s” party, participant exhibition, and fashion show. 
The following internationally known mentors are scheduled to teach. Details of each class are in the pull-down menu for “Session A” and “Session B”.

Jeanette Appleton (England/Spain)/ jeanetteappleton.com

Inge Bauer & Andrea Noeske-Porada (Germany)/ ibtextiles.de/www.kuimsou.de

Dagmar Binder (Germany) / textillabor.de

Kerr Grabowski (USA) / kerrgrabowski.com

Anita Larkin (Australia) / anitalarkin.com

Pam MacGregor (USA) / tarveycottagestudio.com

Gladys Paulus (England) / gladyspaulus.co.uk/

Ryan Wilde (USA) / ryanwilde.com